Marian M. Hunter History Room
Avon Free Public Library
281 Country Club Road
The Avon Free Public Library. Photo by Nora O. Howard (click image to enlarge).
The Avon Free Public Library can be traced back to 1791 when Reverend Rufus Hawley started collecting money from residents to purchase books for a community library. In 1798, Samuel Bishop, a prominent citizen, began offering library services from his home with a collection of 111 titles.
Through a mutual agreement with the Avon Free Public Library, the Avon Historical Society dedicated the Marian M. Hunter History Room on February 4, 1989. Named in honor of Marian M. Hunter, long-time librarian and historian of Avon, the room serves as an integral part of the Avon Free Public Library. It is staffed by society volunteers, and chaired by the Library Director.
Researchers and residents may use the room, located on the first floor, to find information on the history of the town, original homesteads, buildings and family genealogies. The collection includes photographs, postcards, scrapbooks, maps, deeds, and other historic items. A glass display showcases the history of Avon and the exhibits are changed regularly.
The History Room is open by appointment, which can be scheduled directly with the library at 860.673.9712.