Since the renovation and expansion of the Avon Free Public Library, the Avon Historical Society manages requests to use the glass display cases and adjacent areas outside the Marion M. Hunter History Room. This secure area is very popular with local community groups. Reservations for this space are made by contacting the Avon Historical Society and providing a brief synopsis of what the display will feature. Bookings are typically made 12 – 18 months in advance to secure a two month slot.
At the time of this writing, future scheduled displays include: “Edgar Maurice Woodford – Surveyor, Civil War Veteran, Abolitionist” (March - April 2018); “Historic Farmsteads and Homes of Avon” (May - June 2018); and “Early Water-powered Mills of Avon” (July - August 2018).
Recent displays have included artifacts from WWII and the Vietnam War respectively; “A Square in the Quilt of Avon’s History”; the devastation at the Derrin House following the fire on May 11 2016; mechanized warfare in WWI; a history of the girl guides in Avon; and rarely seen items from the archives of the First Company Governor’s Horse Guards (the oldest continually serving cavalry unit in the USA). The Society’s new banners featuring “Moments in Avon’s History” were also on view in the cabinets, following their launch in July 2017.
The Story of the H.L. Hunley Submarine: It’s Connection to Connecticut History
January 8 - February 28, 2018
Avon Free Public Library, 281 West Avon Road
The Special Projects Committee of the Avon Historical Society is pleased to present a unique exhibit on the history and reclamation of the Confederate submarine, Hunley, which sank in 1864
and later rediscovered and raised in 2000. The exhibit will be on display from January 8 through February 28, 2018 at the Local History Corner on the first floor of the Avon Free Public Library, during regular business hours.